Nine members of the Light Aircraft Association (LAA) have been recognised at the annual Royal Aero Club Awards.

The awards were presented at the RAF Club, Piccadilly, London by the patron of the RAeC, His Royal Highness The Duke of York.

The RAeC has been rewarding achievement in aviation for over 100 years, and the honour roll is a veritable Who’s Who in aviation, including Lord Brabazon, Louis Bleriot, Alcock and Brown and Sir Geoffrey de Havilland. The awards recognise not only individual and team achievement in sport and recreational aviation, but also the commitment and support, often over many years, by those whose efforts enable that achievement to take place.

This year’s LAA Royal Aero Club Award recipients were: Mark Albery, Stan Dauncey, David and Susan Dunn, Stewart Jackson, Robin Morton, Arthur W J G Ord-Hume, Barry Plumb and Ian Rickard.

Also receiving achievement awards were the team behind the AWARE anti-infringement GPS, which included Jonathan Smith, Kathy McColl and Mark Watson from NATS, and William Moore from Airbox Ltd., and school students Naomi Green and Nathan Burroughs for their work on an LAA Youth Education Build-a-Plane project which is one of eight aircraft being built by students around the UK.

Each individual or team had been nominated by the Light Aircraft Association. For more information about the organisation, visit the LAA’s website.

Image(s) provided by: