Steve Hinton Jr won his sixth consecutive Breitling Unlimited Gold championship on Sunday at the annual Reno Air Races.

Hinton won the race in P51-D Mustang Voodoo ahead of Sherman Smoot in Yak 11 Czech Mate and Dennis Sanders in TMK 20 Sea Fury Dreadnaught.

Sadly Team Precious Metal, featured in Pilot’s September issue, was disqualified by the Contest Committee for a showline cut.

In the Formula One Class Steve Senegal returned after a year’s absence to claim victory over reigning champion Vito Wypraechtiger.

Meanwhile Dennis Buehn won his second consecutive T-6 Class Championship in Midnight Miss III with an average speed of 239.163mph. He finished around three seconds ahead of second-place John Lohmar, who averaged 237.853 mph in his aircraft, Radial Velocity.

For the first time since 2008 a new champion was crowned in the Biplane Class after six-time winner Tom Aberle pulled out after suffering from dizziness and heat exhaustion on Saturday. Jake Stewart claimed gold after finishing the eight-lap course in a time of 5:20.772 and a average speed of 225.022 mph, in his Pitts S-1 Bad MoJo.

Phil Fogg, flying the L-39 Fast Company, won the Jet Class Gold Race, finishing well ahead of Reno’s Rick Vandam in the L-39 American Spirit.

Finally, the Sport Class saw the continued domination of Jeff LaVelle, who took his Glasair III Race 39 to a third consecutive victory and fourth in five years.

For more information visit

Image(s) provided by: